Working on a Team

I married into a flock of accountants. My mother-in-law is an accountant, my father-in-law…an accountant, my brother-in-law – yep, an accountant. Worse yet, they work at big banks. As for my husband? An accountant. Well, almost – he’s a Corporate Analyst turned Math Teacher. So, how did a creative marketing gal end up marrying into a gaggle of bean-counting bankers? That’s easy. Opposites attract. To outsiders we may seem like a strange combination, but we actually make a great team. I wouldn’t dare try to do my own taxes, yet my husband could care less about what color we paint our walls.

It seems to me that the best credit unions operate the same way. They exist as a team, each player bringing their own set of talents and skills to the table. Then they’re trusted with a unique set of tasks working together to create value for the betterment of our members’ lives. I always say that instead of well-rounded people, my CEO was smart to pick very pointy people to serve on our management team. We’re all highly opinionated and see the world from a very unique and somewhat narrow perspective. Sure, we probably wouldn’t choose to hang out together at a party, but when it comes to decisions, I am quite certain that after going through the meat grinder of 7 crazed managers we get a pretty good end product. And though I may grit my teeth every Friday in our meetings, I think we’re living proof that the value of a great team is much greater than the sum of its parts.

{So, next time you go to hire someone to work at your credit union, why not try to get a skill set no one else has rather than a cookie cutter?} They may just be the piece that completes the great puzzle of member service.

About giraphcu

Greetings and salutations! Welcome to gira{ph}, a strategic marketing firm that helps credit unions amplify their greatness to create chemistry with consumers. The credit union movement has given so much to us. This is our way of giving back. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

