Shoes with Soul

I have recently developed a strange relationship with shoes. Whenever I accomplish something momentous in my life or reach a milestone, I buy an iconic pair of shoes symbolic of the occasion.

For instance, when my daughter was born I bought a pair of pretty pink shoes, dainty as a newborn baby girl. When I won a big award I didn’t expect last year, I purchased a pair of ruby red slippers because the event was as surreal as a yellow bricked lined jaunt to Oz. And just recently when we launched a big local cooperative campaign, I acquired a funky pair of orange sandals that reminded me of the campaign’s graphics.

It is hard to find occasion to wear these shoes. After all, it does seem like a bit much to wear shimmering red shoes to a membership drive at a manufacturing plant. But I do love to walk into my closet, survey my wearable trophies, and reminisce about the events, decisions and occasions that mark major landmarks in my life. I suppose it is probably atypical to celebrate through a 7.5 sized pair of open toe, fuchsia pumps, but it does add a little chic flair to life’s events. I realize it’s a strange vice.

I often think that as credit unions, we have so many opportunities to add to our members shoe closet. We’re there for them through all the important life events – from marriage to divorce, apartment to house, sports car to minivan and back again. We’re an ally through life’s ups and downs, offering aid and comfort through the best and worst. And just like a good pair of shoes, we help them walk, run and jump through life’s obstacles.

What I love about shoes is that they’re all different, each with a purpose, and each solves a problem for the moment – whether it’s to help me run faster, improve my game, gain confidence, look stylish or just simply to get me from here to there at that moment.

It is pretty amazing when you stop and think about all the shoes that grace your lobby, the problems solved and lives enhanced. {So, whether you serve work boots, high heels, or loafers, whatever you do – just make sure the shoe fits.}

About giraphcu

Greetings and salutations! Welcome to gira{ph}, a strategic marketing firm that helps credit unions amplify their greatness to create chemistry with consumers. The credit union movement has given so much to us. This is our way of giving back. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

