Share Your Story

I once had a teacher tell my parents in a scornful vindication that I “told too many stories”. I suppose that was true. What my teacher didn’t realize is that I was also a tad spiteful. Ironically, she gave us a project where we had to create a booklet. While many of my peers created nonfiction collections about dogs and rainbows, I vividly remember mine being about an evil spinsterly teacher patronizing a young innocent student. The moral of the story: Be careful when you criticize a creative person.

I love a good story. Perhaps even more than hearing a good story, I like to tell them. One of my favorite movies is Big Fish which is about an old man on his death bed telling his life’s story. It’s always been a great reminder to me that at the end of it all, we are only our story: the connections with the characters whose lives we touch and the hopeful triumph of good over evil.

I heard a great quote by Barry Lopez recently, {If stories come to you, care for them. And learn to give them away where they are needed. Sometimes a person needs a story more than food to stay alive.} Stories fuel our soul. You are probably reading this blog looking for a good story, some food for the imagination or an answer to a question you didn’t yet know to ask.

So, maybe as marketers we need to tell more stories to provide our members with the inspiration they need to be better: To help them triumph over the financial antagonists that plague their daily lives.

About giraphcu

Greetings and salutations! Welcome to gira{ph}, a strategic marketing firm that helps credit unions amplify their greatness to create chemistry with consumers. The credit union movement has given so much to us. This is our way of giving back. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

