RIP Material Girl

I’m wearing black today. Ill confess – I wear black everyday, but today it has a purpose. You see Im in mourning. My very favorite store in the entire world is closing.

Lane Sanson in Richmond, Virginia is an eclectic boutique gift store filled with absolutely useless knick-knacks, who-sits and thingamabobs. For all of my adult life this commercial temptress has charmed my credit card by offering unique, one-of-a-kind gifts you cant find anywhere. What do you get the person who has everything? You go to Lane Sanson and youd find just the thing. I mean who doesnt need a 4 foot tall rusted pink flamingo or a purse made entirely of recycled bubble gum wrappers?

Lane Sanson was a true wonderland for material girls everywhere, a creative escape, void of rules and reality. And as its doors close, I cant help but feel a seismic shift in our collective way of thinking. We are entering a new season, one of simplicity, where frugal is suddenly fashionable and cutting coupons is sexy.

I suppose the great irony is that I cant actually remember a single thing I ever purchased from my favorite store. Instead, I remember the experience: The sounds, the smells, friends and family that shared this shopping tradition. My favorite memory is going there with my cousins as a sweet escape shortly after their mother passed away.  Im sure we purchased things”, but they have probably been lost to yard sales. The memory has endured.

So, Goodbye Jones’. So long credit card debt and shopaholism. Rest in Peace Material Girl, your pink flamingos and bubble gum wrapper purses.

{But cheers to creating memories, getting back to the basics, and suddenly waking up in a world that is rediscovering its priorities.}

About giraphcu

Greetings and salutations! Welcome to gira{ph}, a strategic marketing firm that helps credit unions amplify their greatness to create chemistry with consumers. The credit union movement has given so much to us. This is our way of giving back. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

