Just in Case You Needed a Reason to be Thankful

I love Thankgiving.  It’s a true American holiday where the agenda is simple: eat yourself silly. In the state of the current economy, I’ll admit, I felt a bit more thankful this past holiday.  And I can think of no better time to be grateful to work at a credit union than right now.  When many of my friends and family are unsure if they will have a job tomorrow, it’s hard to complain about mine. Here are a just a handful of reasons I’m thankful to be a CU Marketeer.
{I’m thankful to work someplace that makes a difference for everyday people.} Just the other day, we saved a member from a bank’s foreclosure of his home.  First, he cried tears of fear. Â Then when he realized we could help, they became tears of joy. It’s quite something to witness the organization you work for create magic in the course of someone’s life. Â I’m not sure there could be a better motivator than that.

I’m thankful I get to pick from a closet full of hats. Few jobs come with such an extraordinary array of duties. Â If I wanted to hold a class on budgeting, help design a branch, or clean the refrigerator, who would stop me? Â See a gap? Â Go fill it. Â Just open the closet, pick a hat and try it on. If it fits, you’ll likely wear it for good.
I’m thankful I get to see (and hear) the results of my efforts. What’s more satisfying than creating something and watching to see if it flies (or falls flat on its face!)? Â And I’m even grateful for the member that frequently calls me to tell me about the typo’s and misplaced links on my website. Â He keeps me humble and reminds me for whom I ultimately work for.

I’m thankful for the cooperative spirit and to work in an industry full of really good people. I’m grateful for blogs like these and for friends who openly share for the greater good. Â But mostly, I’m thankful because exactly 100 years ago some forward thinking pioneers in Boston had the gusto to pool their money together, to make this world better by calling themselves members.

About giraphcu

Greetings and salutations! Welcome to gira{ph}, a strategic marketing firm that helps credit unions amplify their greatness to create chemistry with consumers. The credit union movement has given so much to us. This is our way of giving back. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

