30,712 Bosses

Why is it that whenever you are running late, you hit every traffic light, get behind a slow person and miss your turn? It was just that kind of morning. I was due to a community event, and missed my turn not once, but twice. But thanks to my lead foot, I was only 5 minutes late. I hate being late, but in spite of the obstacles of the morning 5 minutes didn’t seem so bad. With all my wares in hand, I approached my table and an angry lady tapping her toe.

“Where have YOU been? I’m embarrased that all of these other banks and credit unions are here, but MY credit union wasn’t here!” She said it so accusingly it stung. Not knowing this woman, I put down my things, and stuck out my hand, “Hi. I’m Kelley. It’s nice to meet you. Sorry I was late.” It didn’t satisfy her, and she stormed off.

I’ll admit, I was a little annoyed. After all, I was only 5 minutes late. I shrugged it off, set up my things and began doing my song and dance.

Later I accidently made eye contact with her, and she came over and apologized for her biting introduction. “She said, “I’m sorry I bit your head off this morning, but if you were 5 minutes late to a job interview, you wouldn’t get the job.”

I was instantly humbled. She was right. Suddenly I remembered where she, as a member, sat on our organizational chart and it was way above me. {And this community event was just like a job interview, an opportunity to work for more people, more owners, and ultimately have more bosses.} By showing up late to the interview, I blew it.

It was a great reminder that at the end of the day, I have 30,725 bosses. Sure, they may have different management styles and involvement. But they all have the power to fire me by simply banking elsewhere.

About giraphcu

Greetings and salutations! Welcome to gira{ph}, a strategic marketing firm that helps credit unions amplify their greatness to create chemistry with consumers. The credit union movement has given so much to us. This is our way of giving back. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

